Odigie-Oyegun Gets New Appointment


Odigie-Oyegun Gets New Appointment

Buhari offered Odigie-Oyegun fresh appoimtment

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed a former national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, as chairman of the University of Ibadan (UI) governing council.

Oyegun was chairman of the APC when Buhari was elected in 2015.

Similarly, the President reconstituted the governing councils of the University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), University of Lagos (UNILAG), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, and the Maritime University in Delta state.

Buhari’s approval was contained in a statement issued on Thursday by the permanent secretary of the federal ministry of education, Sonny Echono.

ALSO READ:  BREAKING: Plateau Assembly Speaker Impeached -

He said the President also approved Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Abubakar Maikafi, and Emeka Nwagbo as members of the UI governing council.

The statement said the President also appointed Sen. Andrew Uchendu as chairman of the University of Port Harcourt.

Read Also: Trouble Looms As Pastor’s Wife Locks Church To Stop Husband From Marrying Second Wife, Video

Other members are Mr Kolo Uzamat, Cdre. D.T. Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi, and Ahmed Al-Mustapha are members.

UNILAG has Dr Lanre Tejuosho as chairman with Dr Aminu Ahmed, Dr. Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi, and Comrade Mustafa Salihu as members.

The statement added, “OAU has Chief Oscar Udoji as Chairman, with Capt. Bala Jibrin, Hon. Eugene Odo, Dr Lateef Babata, and Alhaji Saidu Bako as members.

ALSO READ:  APC Kicks Against Direct Primary, Reveals Next Action -

“The Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta, has Dr Elias Courson as Chairman and Hon. Nelson Alapa, Hon Victor Giadono, Alhaji Bello Dukku, and Mr Godwin Ananghe as members.”

He said all the five universities’ governing councils would be inaugurated in Abuja by the minister of education Adamu Adamu on April 19.

Echono urged the vice-chancellors of the affected universities to attend the inauguration ceremony.



About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published.