Akwa ibom Sport

Akwa United Wins First NPFL Title


Akwa United Wins First NPFL Title

IBOM FOCUS reports that it was a thing of joy on Sunday in Akwa ibom state as Akwa United Wins First NPFL Title

Akwa United on Sunday defeated MFM FC 5-2 to emerge winner of the 2020/2021 Nigeria Professional Football League season.

The Uyo-based side won this season’s competition with 71 points in 37 league games, while Nasarawa United came second with 62 points in 37 games, edging out Eyimba FC who placed third on the same 62 points but inferior goal difference.

Akwa United Wins First
Akwa United Wins First NPFL Title

Charles Atshimene put up a brilliant performance on Sunday, netting a hat-trick to help Akwa United secure their first ever league title victory.

ALSO READ:  FULL LIST: Tension As APC Fires Akwa Ibom Former Governor, Others -

Atshimene scored in the 24’, 85’, 90’, minutes of the game. Mfon Udoh scored in the 62nd minute, while Alimi Adebayo gave Akwa United an own goal in the 45th minute.

MFM got two consolation goals. Michael Mbonu scored from the spot for MFC FC in the 68th minute, while Dennis Obasi scored the second goal for MFM in the 91st minute.

Read Also: REVEALED: Did Abba Kyari Threaten To Expose Lai, Femi, Others If Arrested By FBI? Who And Who Makes The List, Full Details

With record 18 games unbeaten, Akwa United had the longest unbeaten run in the league and clean sheets this season.

ALSO READ:  PHOTOS: Lady Stab Lover To Death, Escapes With His Car In Akwa Ibom

Four teams; Warri Wolves, Jigawa Star, Ifeanyi Uba FC and Adamawa United are all relegated from the league.

Akwa United Wins First NPFL Title


About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published.