Big Story

BREAKING: Full List; A’Ibom, Kogi, Others To Get New State As National Assembly Recommends 20 New States’ Creation


BREAKING: Full List; A’Ibom To Get New State As National Assembly Recommends 20 New States’ Creation

Information reaching IBOM FOCUS that Senate Recommends 20 New States’ Creation

Senate Committee on Constitution Review has recommended the creation of 20 new states and proposed that referendum be conducted for the 20 new states by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Some of the requests are ITAI State (from Akwa Ibom State); State status for the FCT; Katagum State from Bauchi State; Okura State from Kogi East; Adada State from Enugu State; Gurara State from Kaduna South; and Ijebu State from Ogun State; Ibadan State from Oyo State; Tiga State from Kano State; Ghari State from Kano State; Amana State from Adamawa; Gongola State from Adamawa; Mambilla State from Taraba State; Savannah State from Borno State; and Okun state from Kogi State.

ALSO READ:  BREAKING: Buhari Appoints New Heads For Civil Defence, NCS

Others are Etiti State from the South East Zone; Orashi State from Imo and Anambra states; Njaba from the present Imo State or the excision of Aba State from Abia State; Anioma State from Delta State; Torogbene and Oil River States, from Bayelsa, Delta and Rivers states; and Bayajida State from parts of Katsina, Jigawa and Zamfara states.

20 New States’ Creation

20 New States

Read Also: EXPOSED: What Is Stopping FBI From Coming To Pick Abba Kyari? Truth Finally Reveals, Must Read

Chairman of the House Committee on Judiciary, Onofiok Luke, who sponsored the bill, said in the explanatory note that the bill seeks to alter the Constitution “to provide for state police and other state government security services to enhance security and preservation of lives and properties in Nigeria”.

ALSO READ:  Jubilation In Zamfara As Military Finally Dislodge Bandit Camps -

It could be recalled that the House of Representatives earlier passed for second reading, a bill seeking to amend the 1999 Constitution to allow creation of state police and legalise regional security outfits. The current police system will be decentralised by moving police from the Exclusive Legislative List to the Concurrent List.

20 New States’ Creation


About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published.