Church Politics

JUST IN: Again, Catholic Priest Wins APC Governorship Primary Rerun –

JUST IN: Again, Catholic Priest Wins APC Governorship Primary Rerun

Information reaching Ibom Focus says that Catholic Priest Wins APC Governorship Primary Rerun

A Catholic Priest, Rev. Fr Hyacinth Iormem Alia, has won the governorship primary election rerun conducted by the All Progressives Congress, APC, in 12 Local Government Areas and 3 council wards in Buruku Local Government Area of Benue State.

Announcing the results on Thursday, 9th June, 2022 at the APC State secretariat in Makurdi, the Benue State capital, chairman of the rerun committee, Mr Joel Omajali, said a total number of 366,546 voters were registered, 292,930 accredited, a total of 270,353 votes were validly cast while Fr Alia polled 195,314 votes to come out victorious.

ALSO READ:  Tinubu Fires Back At Babachir Over Attack On Buhari, North’ -

According to Omajali, Prof. Terhemba Shija scored 1,859, Terlumun Ikya scored 2,746, Bernard Yisa 338, Mathias Byuan1,4152, Sam Ode 21698, Godwin Ityoachimin 860, Barnabas Gemade 3,831, Michael Kaase Aondoakaa 3,517, Herman Iorwase Hembe 720, Terwase Orbunde 1,393, Steven lawani 23,925 and Ayom Mlanga, 0000.

The rerun was conducted in Ogbadibo, Ushongo, Konshisha, Oju, Apa, Kwande, Agatu, Ohimini, Ado, Obi, Okpokwu and Apa Local Government Areas.

Secretary of the Committee, Emma Maji, described the rerun election as free, fair and credible.

Catholic Priest Wins APC
Catholic Priest Wins APC Governorship Primary Rerun

Shortly after the declaration of results, State Deputy Chairman of the party, Hon. Stephen Tsav, on behalf of the State Chairman, Comrade Austin Agada, presided over a congress that affirmed the outcome of the rerun gubernatorial primary election.

ALSO READ:  Nigerian Pastor In ‘Trouble’ For Raping 3 Biological Sisters -

The Benue APC had conducted its governorship primary election on the 27th of May, 2022 with Alia as the winner. But some aspirants including Chief Barnabas Gemade, Chief Mike Aõndoakaa, Dr Mathias Byuan, Chief Stephen Lawani and Prof. Terhemba Shija wrote a petition to the National Working Committee of the party, calling for cancellation of the election, pointing out various electoral malpractices. Consequently, the NWC ordered for a rerun in 12 local governments which was accordingly held on the 8th and 9th June, 2022 and Alia maintained his landslide victory.


About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published.